Homemade Twix Bars


There’s something about a Twix bar that brings you back to when you were 5.  (Or maybe back to last week. You never know when chocolate is going to be the only cure.) This homemade version is every bit as good as the real thing! Bonus: you get to eat more. 🙂 Even though there are two in there, I swear Twix bars get smaller every time I buy one in a gas station. I’m on to you, Mars candy makers!

I have made these before, and there are lots of versions floating around the Web, but this version comes from Hoosier Homemade. Many a yummy baked good has been born in the Hoosier state!

You’ll need the following ingredients:

–1 C crushed graham crackers

–3/4 C brown sugar (I used dark but I’m sure you can also use light)

–1/3 cup sugar

–1/3 C milk

–1/2 C margarine (I used butter)

–2/3 C peanut butter

–1 C chocolate chips (I used more—because when it comes to chocolate chips, why use the minimum?)

Oh, and I almost forgot the star ingredient:


I think it’s a documented fact that not a person alive dislikes Club crackers. They’re just one of those American things…like hamburgers and hot dogs. Or chocolate and vanilla twist cones with sprinkles. Or bologna sandwiches with crushed tortilla chips in the middle (or maybe that one is less America and more just me.)

Anyway, the first step is to line a 13×9 pan with Club crackers. Fun fact: we don’t have an oven, so I used a Toaster oven to make these. So I used a smaller pan (maybe 8×8?) and just layered this whole recipe.



Once the crackers are arranged, add everything but the peanut butter and chocolate chips to a pot and bring to a boil, stirring frequently. (We also don’t have a stove–that tends to happen when you don’t have an oven. So I threw all the ingredients in a Crock Pot. I don’t recommend this method. It takes a lot longer. It’s also messier. However, chances are you are normal and have an oven so you won’t experience any Crock Pot woes.)

Once the mixture is smooth and bubbling and carmel-like in texture, pour it over the crackers and spread.


Immediately top with more crackers. Then if you’re using a small pan like I did, add another layer of carmely goo (that’s the technical term). Spread over the top.


Add another row of crackers and another of carmely goo. Refrigerate for at least 30 minutes. In the meantime, combine chocolate chips and peanut butter (I used honey-flavored PB) and melt in the microwave for 1 minute and 30 seconds, stirring halfway through. Top crackers with a layer of frosting, then put back in the fridge to harden for 15 minutes or so.


The next step is unwritten. Eating the whole pan would work. I opted to save some for Dave. The plan for tonight was either to make these or white bean burgers, and I’m sure you can guess which one would get eaten by a guy faster. If it’s got “bean” and “burger” in the same sentence, chances are I’m going to be eating the entire batch alone. Now with homemade Twix bars…

I think if I wanted to eat my fair share of something, I should have gone with the white bean burgers.

Comments

  1. Oh yum. We are so on the same page food wise! These look totally delish, would love to try them out, but am contemplating what I’d have to substitute in terms of Aussie ingredients. A few unknowns there for me…

    Thanks for dropping into my blog and leaving a comment! Always fun to hear from new people!

  2. Those look incredible! Even better than regular twix by far. And twix are one of my fave candy so that’s saying a lot. 🙂

  3. Thanks so much for the mention! So glad you like them!
    ~Liz

  4. Oh my, these could be dangerous!!!!! ….NO stove, NO way! That would be tough!!!

  5. actorsdiet says:

    i forgot all about those club bars! i used to love those…

  6. All I can say is “Mmm” and “you’re a genius.”

Trackbacks

  1. […] still had some graham cracker to use up from these, which is another reason this recipe was appealing. Otherwise I might just sit around eating graham […]

  2. […] vegetables to a party. Or that eats vegetables at a party, come to think of it. I’d rather bring these. But if you are that type of person, is this not the cutest little veggie pumpkin you’ve ever […]

Leave a Reply

