Mini Strawberry-Glazed Donuts


It’s officially strawberry season, and when I saw big containers on sale at Ralph’s for $.99 this week, I got way too excited and grabbed four. Then I realized that I like strawberries, but I’d rather not eat them and only them this week.

So I put two back and into my cart the other two went. I figured I could freeze some for smoothies, add some to oatmeal … you know, healthy things. But then I got distracted by the mini-donut pan at Sur la Table, and these happened instead. But they’re still totally healthy because, you know, strawberries.

I came home with a donut pan and a recipe on the back, and decided throwing strawberries into the mix wasΒ  the way to go. I’m happy to report it worked. πŸ™‚ First I cut up some lovely fresh fruit …



And then I cut up some more. Told you I had a lot of strawberries!

I followed the recipe on the back of the package exactly, except when I almost chopped my finger off. That part wasn’t in the instructions (huh).

The rest went pretty smoothly. Here’s the recipe, courtesy of Wilton Donut Pans:

— 1 1/4 C cake flour (I used pastry flour)
–1/2 C sugar
–1 1/4 teaspoons baking powder
–1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg (I used cinnamon)
–3/4 teaspoon salt
–1/2 C buttermilk
–1 egg, lightly beaten
–1 1/2 tablespoons butter, melted

Preheat oven to 425 and spray mini donut pan with cooking spray. Sift together dry ingredients, then add wet ingredients until just combined (here’s where I added a bunch of chopped strawberries. That’s as scientific as my measurements got.) Fill each donut cup halfway full, then bake for 4-6 minutes or until top of donuts spring back when you touch them. Let cool for a few minutes.

Then I topped mine with a glaze I made by combining 1 cup of powdered sugar, 1 tablespoon of milk, 1/2 tablespoon of vanilla, and strawberry puree (a fancy way of saying I added the rest of the strawberries to the food processor and blended them into liquid). Top with sprinkles if there is a need to make them pretty. Actually, donuts should be pretty by law so you should probably go ahead and buy the sprinkles.

If you too spot strawberries for $.99 a carton and would prefer to make them into something sugary and yummy as opposed to just eating them, this is a great option. πŸ™‚ They would be great for little kids … or just of us who just eat like little kids.



If that’s not enough strawberry goodness for you, here are some recipes I plan to try the rest of the summer:

Red Velvet Strawberry Shortcake
from I Am Baker (I can’t even comprehend this one)

Cheesecake-Stuffed Strawberries from SugarDerby

Angel Food Cake with Vanilla Strawberries from Joy the Baker

Strawberry-Stuffed French Toast from Annie’s Eats

And this one’s just a given on a hot summer night πŸ™‚ … Best Strawberry Daiquiri from All Recipes (apparently the name says it all)!

Happy baking!

Recipes, Food, Strawberries, Baking

Comments

  1. These are so cute! I definitely need to put my doughnut pan to use by making these! My girls would love them!

  2. Such pretty pictures, looks so yummy too! You’re so creative lol.

  3. I REALLY need to boy a donut pan. Theese look so good!

  4. Aren’t the donut pans fun? Love the way you decorated these donuts.

  5. oh my gosh these look amazing!!!

  6. wow. you need to submit these pictures to foodgawker.

  7. Wow yum . . .will you make these for me and Riley when you come home?

  8. buttonss - Cherie says:

    Awwwuhh these are waay to cute to eat!

Leave a Reply

