Hermosa Beach

6-Man Festival

This weekend, we took a trip to Hermosa Beach, which is only about a 40-minute drive away. The 6-Man Volleyball Tournament was going on (which for everyone not playing volleyball was synonymous with “huge beach party.” Or maybe even to some of the players.) It’s a yearly occurrence, and this was my first time attending. It was so much fun!

There were so many people! I knew it would be a big deal, but not this big!

Volleyball tournament

We wandered up and down the beach and watched the games (I did more people-watching, since volleyball generally doesn’t hold my attention for more than 5 minutes or so).

Hermosa Beach

Hermosa Beach

The beach was beautiful—pretty much the norm for around here!

On Sunday, we did a little more exploring. The games were pretty much over, but there was a reggae band playing on the beach, where we settled in to listen to some music and watch the sunset. Before I show you some sunset photos, I must take a puppy break to share one of the cutest doggies I’ve ever seen:

Winston

Really, no autographs, please. Can't you see I'm sleeping?

This is my friend’s dog Winston. He’s a 9-month-old bulldog, and he can’t go anywhere without getting all kinds of attention. And he wouldn’t have it any other way. 🙂 Isn’t his tongue sticking out adorable?!

Winston

My cuteness knows no bounds.

After Winston’s stroll along the beach, he headed inside to take a nap (being that attractive is exhausting) and we went back out to watch the sunset. As usual in California, it didn’t disappoint!

Sunset

The pier was full of people fishing and enjoying their Sunday evening.

Playing on the pier

Sunset pier

As soon as the sun started dropping, the colors lit up the sky. I love how it turns so many different colors in the course of 10 minutes!

Sunset

Golden Sunset

After the sunset, we walked back through the streets of Hermosa Beach, which is such a pretty little town. It was such a fun weekend and we’ll definitely be back here often!

After the Sunset

Winston says goodbye and he’ll see you again soon. 🙂

Winston Sunsets, Beaches, Travel

Comments

  1. Wow! Looks like so much fun! And Winston is SO cute!

  2. Fabulous sunset photos – so many colors! That black-and-white photo in the middle is probably my favorite though; it really has a lot of spirit. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    Leonard
    http://lightsketches.wordpress.com/

  3. The beach looks so beautiful! I’ve lived in California my whole life and still appreciate a good sunset or walk down the pier 🙂

    – Nicole

  4. Aww do you think Winston and Riley would get along? Something tells me no . . .

  5. These shots are breathtaking! Absolutely beautiful 🙂
    What a wonderful way to spend the weekend.

  6. You have such a beautiful blog! I also just moved to Southern California, but from Colorado. I LOVE Pasadena, I go visit my friend that lives there all the time, such a beautiful place. Everyone I know went to this beach volleyball thing, but I was down in San Diego this weekend.

  7. Whew…that is a ton of people! Love the sunset pictures and Winston, what a cutie!

  8. My fiance is a huge volleyball fan, we’re moving to San Diego next year and I’m sure we’ll definitely be in Hermosa Beach for this next summer!!

  9. love the photos! Looks like a great time!

  10. Love the photos! And the puppy!

  11. What a lovely blog. Thank you for your comment on my post. Hope you’ll stop by again soon!

Trackbacks

  1. […] Otherwise I might just sit around eating graham crackers and not fit into my swimsuit for our beach trips anymore. That would be sad. (Because making them into s’more bars only reduced the calorie […]

  2. […] weekend, we headed to Santa Monica to visit Kelly (and Winston!) who live there. Kelly, me and […]

Leave a Reply

