White Chocolate Cake Bar S’mores

White chocolate cake bar s'mores

If you don’t read a lot of recipe blogs, I could introduce you to probably more than you’ll ever need. 🙂 But this is one of my favorites—you can’t go wrong with the recipes on Picky Palate, at least as far as I’ve found! I made these cake bar s’mores today and they contain white chocolate chips, mini marshmallows, and yellow cake mix. How can you go wrong with those ingredients?! Normally I play around with the recipes I find, but these sounded perfect!

I wanted to make something special (read: gooey and calorie-laden) since Dave is having reconstructive surgery on his knee this week. Not that white chocolate cake bar s’mores will fix a torn ACL. But it’s the thought that counts, right? Besides, who am I to judge? These bars might have healing superpowers. They taste like they might.

Some important ingredients.

Ingredients

Ingredients

I still had some graham cracker to use up from these, which is another reason this recipe was appealing. Otherwise I might just sit around eating graham crackers and not fit into my swimsuit for our beach trips anymore. That would be sad. (Because making them into s’more bars only reduced the calorie count.)

White Chocolate Cake Bar S’mores (recipe from Picky Palate)

–1 box yellow cake mix

–1 large egg

–1/2 stick (1/2 C) butter, softened (the recipe calls for unsalted; I used salted)

–4 1/2 full graham crackers

–10-ounce bag white chocolate chips (mine was 11 ounces)

–2 cups miniature marshmallows

–1/2 C sweetened condensed milk

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line 8×8 baking dish with foil (all the way up the sides) and spray foil-lined pan with cooking spray. Place cake mix, egg, and butter in a large mixing bowl and mix with hands until a soft dough forms.

Press half of the dough into bottom of foil-lined pan. Layer graham crackers, white chocolate chips and marshmallows on top. Top with remaining half of dough. Drizzle the condensed milk over the top, then bake for 28-33 minutes, until cooked through. Let cool before cutting.

The results are definitely worth the gooey mess your kitchen might become. (Of course, maybe you can bake without your kitchen resembling a doughball battlefield when you’re done. I can’t seem to accomplish that.)

Stack of bars

You can also get creative and chop one up. Then you get to do something fun with it.

Chopped-up s'more bar

See?

S'more bars and ice cream

That’s butter pecan ice cream and it goes really well with s’more bars. Just in case you were wondering.

These would also be fun to wrap up and take camping! Just in case you’re too impatient to roast a hot dog AND a s’more. This way you can have both and still have time for a mini-bottle of wine before the sun sets. I have my camping priorities in order. 🙂

Enjoy!

S'more bars

recipes, baking, white chocolate, s’mores

Comments

  1. Oh my goodness- these look AMAZING! 🙂

  2. Thanks for stopping by my blog! These look fantastically dangerous!

  3. actorsdiet says:

    jesus christ.

  4. awesome!
    Adding butter pecan pie ice-cream = delish 🙂

  5. These look dangerous but oh so delicious!

  6. Ohmigosh these look amazing!!!!! Such a sweet tooth right now…

  7. Wow…the only thing someone has to do is say s’mores, of any kind, and I am there! I want it now!

  8. I am so so glad you commented on my blog so I could find yours! These look positively perfect and I agree, you can’t go wrong with recipes from that site 🙂
    I can’t wait to read more.. so many of the recipes you have look fantastic

  9. Those look AMAZING! Ahhhh! I wish I had more of a will to bake so I can enjoy goodies like this

  10. Oh, goodness…these look amazing. And the fact that you added ice cream is even better!!

  11. Wow, that looks AMAZING!!! I just came across your blog from the Flickr group for the August Break challenge. 🙂

    • Oh good, I’m so glad! The August Break Challenge is so fun. I’ve been slacking on it this weekend though. 🙂

  12. These sound delicious. The photo in the glass with the ice cream is mouthwatering!

Leave a Reply

