Santa Monica

Palm tree

This weekend, we headed to Santa Monica to visit Kelly (and Winston!) who live there. Kelly, me and Dave:

Me Dave and Kelly

And Winston of course.

Winston

This post should clearly be called "Winston." "Santa Monica" isn't nearly as interesting.

It was cloudy for most of Saturday, which is not the norm around here. I always get irrationally annoyed if the clouds are getting in the way of my sunsets. But we still had a pretty great view from the rooftop bar we visited.

Santa Monica view

It was a pretty fancy place, so naturally we ordered fancy drinks. This was some kind of fruity mojito:

Mojito

It looks big … looks can be deceiving. It took me about 4 minutes to drink it. πŸ™‚ And because we can’t do anything too fancy for too long, we also ordered a big bowl of french fries.

Me and Dave, before we decided to vacate the premises and head somewhere more our speed (read: a bar with awesome cheeseburgers with cheese stuffed in the middle).

Me and Dave

On our way, we stopped to watch as a crowd gathered around a few street performers. (Maybe I need a new career—she made street dancing look pretty appealing.)

Street dancer for blog

It was a fun night! We didn’t make it to the Santa Monica pier, which is famous for its small carnival right on the pier, but I did walk down the beach on Sunday morning so I could see it.

Ferris wheel for blog

(Still cloudy. Southern California, you are not allowed to be cloudy!)

On my stroll along the beach, I passed this trailer. This guy has the right idea. He was obviously out living the life when I snapped this photo.

Gone surfing

Pretty nice set-up.

Gone surfing

I kind of want to live on Kapowui Island too!

When I made it to the pier, I was surprised to see a full-on carnivalβ€”not only the ferris wheel, but a swinging pirate ship, bumper boats, and even a Scrambler. Remember those?! I’m pretty sure someone would have to pay me at least $1000 to get on one today. But if anyone is offering, I could probably be brave and attempt it. πŸ™‚

Hats for Sale

They were even selling all kinds of merchandise along the pier. I almost bought a cowboy hat. πŸ™‚ I ran out of time though. Next time!

Until we revisit Santa Monica, Winston says goodbye for now. ❀

Winston for blog

If you don't have a peanut butter-filled rubber toy in your possession, I feel sorry for you.

Have a great week!

Santa Monica, beach, Pier, August Break

Comments

  1. I just stumbled on your blog while floating around wordpress today & it made me smile! I spent a summer in Glendale, right next to Pasadena (I’m from MI). So I can definitely relate to the topic of your blog! *ah, memories*

    Here’s hoping for more sunny days coming your way~ & thanks for the inspiration! πŸ™‚

  2. This post made me smile, all of your pictures are so gorgeous! Thank you for sharing these πŸ™‚

  3. Wow. Pretty blog. Beautiful pictures. Awesome dog (I want to cuddle him). You are lovely.
    Love your site. πŸ™‚

  4. I’m adding you to my blogroll. And then I’m going to hunt you down on Flickr. πŸ™‚ Not to sound creepy or anything. lol

    • Oh thank you! Not creepy at all. πŸ™‚ I’ll check out your sites as well. Do you have Flickr? I’m addicted!

  5. Wonderful pictures of Santa Monica. I love the shot of the trailer and the Kapowui Island sign!
    You look stunning by the way, loving your outfit πŸ™‚

  6. i always love going to the s.m. pier. i love living in l.a.!!!

  7. Wow your pictures are awesome! Can’t wait to read more πŸ™‚

  8. So beautfiul. I want to live in Cali 😦

  9. Your pictures are beautiful! Are you a photographer? The composition is gorgeous!

  10. Looks like fun! I’ve never been to Santa Monica pier, but it’s such an iconic place. That cheeseburger you had sounds amazing! I want one!

  11. Aww…Winston is such a cutie! And this post almost makes me want to buy an RV and drive to Cali πŸ˜€

  12. I’m in love with your photography style! what type of lens were these taken with??

  13. I’m in love with your photography style! What kind of lens do you use??

Leave a Reply

