Yard House

Yardhouse Beer

Saturday night, we decided to stay in Pasadena and try one of the many restaurants we haven’t explored yet. (It should also be known that after dinner, we may or may not have still ended up at our favorite sushi place, where it’s possible that we ordered some edamame even though we had just had dinner. That’s unconfirmed though.)

Downtown Pasadena is always hopping on Saturday nights—or any night, really. We headed to an outdoor mall for our dinner adventure. The mall has tons of cute restaurants and a little wine bar, which Dave will definitely be dragged to in the near future.

I love the lights. It makes me want Christmas. Maybe that’s what the mall has in mind, so people buy a bunch of presents all year round? Or maybe that Christmas thing is just me.

Downtown Pasadena Paseo Colorado Mall

We ended up going to Yard House for dinner, a chain restaurant that exists in several big cities in completely random locations across the country. The theme of the restaurant is clearly “beer.” I would say they have more than successfully executed the theme.

Yard house taps Yardhouse Taps 2

We decided to order several appetizers, my usual choice in lieu of a “real” dinner, like a burger or chicken or salad (although to me, salad never counts as a real meal). I have to post the description of the macaroni and cheese, taken directly from the Yard House Web site, because it’s pretty much poetry in menu form:

“(MAC + CHEESE)

chicken breast, applewood smoked bacon, wild mushrooms, cheddar and parmesan with campanelle pasta and white truffle oil”

It was amazing. Dave even ate a mushroom and didn’t hate it. This is groundbreaking.

A story about the mac and cheese: the first order came out cold, so we politely asked for a new order. While we waited, they didn’t take it away, so we ate almost the entire order cold because it was so good. The second order came out and we ate that entire thing too. The End.

We also ordered Lobster Dip. We should’ve claimed it was cold too. From the menu:

“LOBSTER, CRAB & ARTICHOKE DIP

maine lobster, blue crab, artichoke hearts, four cheese blend served with chips and baked pita”

Lobster dip

I’m thinking of a career change: restaurant menu writer. But I only want the appetizer and dessert sections. And maybe the martini one.

The beers are served in massive yard glasses. I didn’t get one, but I took their picture:

Beer

That doesn’t do the hugeness of this beer justice. This is better:

Beer 2

See it next to the water glass? They don’t mess around.

I loved the inside of the restaurant. I’m all about the atmosphere when eating out, and Yard House has a really nice one. Kind of upscale, but not too upscale to serve 32-oz beverages in yard glasses.

People in Yard House Inside of Yard House

It was a fun Saturday night. 🙂

Tonight, I’m planning to put the White Wine Garlic Sauce to use on chicken and pasta. (Side note: I keep having to write checks at the grocery store because of the tragic demise of the debit card, and every time I write one, I feel compelled to explain that while it would appear I’m stuck in 1993, the ATM really just ate my debit card).

I’m also going to watch the VMAs, and while I’m eagerly awaiting the Britney Spears tribute, I’ll probably try to find some sort of use for this:

Coffee bean and sugar grinder

In case you can’t read that, it says: “Sugar, Chocolate & Coffee Bean Grinder.” I’m pretty sure Trader Joe’s employs a bunch of Ivy-League-educated geniuses. I’m thinking that this stuff is destined for the top of a bowl of ice cream tonight.

What did you do this weekend?

Yard House, Beer, Pasadena, Trader Joe’s

Comments

  1. I’ve been wanting to try that grinder from Trader Joe’s! It looks awesome. I would probably put it on top of my morning oatmeal.

    This weekend I spent way too many hours going through sorority recruitment. Tonight is bid night, and hopefully the MILLIONS of hours pays off!

  2. I can’t believe the sound of that mac and cheese, ohhhh my god. I would have gladly eaten both as well. And that beer is hilariously big! Looks like a really fun day!

  3. Ooooh, crab!! Yummmm, my favorite! Haha, I think you’re the only one about the lights because I have those lights hung up in my backyard year long. I’m crazy about white christmas lights!

  4. Edamame & sushi I love this 🙂

  5. Would LOVE to know what you did with the sugar, chocolate and coffee beans. What an awesome idea.

  6. Saw the sugar/choc/coffee grinder at TJ’s! Haven’t picked it up yet but it’s calling me each time I pass by it =)

  7. I need that grinder. I need it now. I am sooo going to TJs later

  8. That grinder is destined for ice cream!! Love the sound of that 🙂

  9. Yard House is one of my favorite places to unwind! Their artichoke = yum.

    I work in Pasadena, but the area still alludes me with all of its hang outs!

  10. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance says:

    I’ve been to Yard House once for my friend’s 21st birthday celebration (Needless to say, there was plenty of alcohol made available to her haha.) I remember ordering the Noodle Salad & loving it 🙂

    Oh, and apparently they have some kind of tofu chicken meat available too? I haven’t tried it but I heard it was great.

  11. Yard House definitely seems like my kind of place…I LOVE mac n cheese and beer! Love your pictures!

  12. I love your blog, Casey! I’m so glad I stumbled upon it through PB Fingers! 🙂 Beautiful pictures….looks like a fun night!

    Enjoy that Southern CA sunshine!

  13. Love the Yard House! We have one in Denver. Their menu, though. Can we say varied?! Takes forever just to figure out what to get!!

  14. I’m jealous of your weekend. That all sounds so awesome. 🙂

  15. You take beautiful photos!

  16. Wow those are huge beer glasses! Love the pics of the restaurant and I definitely want to try and re-create that mac n cheese recipe at home 🙂

Leave a Reply

