Birthday Chocolate Chip Cookie Cupcakes

Birthday Chocolate Chip Cookie Cupcakes

I made these chocolate chip cookie cupcakes (you read that right!) for my friend Kelly’s birthday last night. A story goes along with these cupcakes. It’s a sad one.

As I was photographing the cupcakes, a huge gust of wind came out of nowhere and freakishly blew the white posterboard that I was using as a backdrop into my new French Press. French Press then crashed from table to floor and shattered everywhere. Death by posterboard!

Said French Press hadn’t even been used yet because I still don’t have a pot to boil water in (another story for another day). 😦 The guy who was repairing the carpet rushed in thinking I was maimed for life after hearing that crash. Glass went everywhere. He helped me pick it up and I gave him a cupcake. He ate the cupcake. True story.

Anyway, besides the loss of the yard sale gem known as the French Press, everything went pretty smoothly when making these. If you like cookies, and you like cupcakes, and you like mushing together desserts to make them even more dessert-ish, you will probably love these!

Cupcakes

Birthday Chocolate Chip Cookie Cupcakes (recipe taken from here)

Cookie Layer (make this first):

–1/2 C butter, softened
–3/4 C loosely packed brown sugar
–1 egg
–1 teaspoon vanilla extract
–1 1/3 all-purpose flour
–1 teaspoon baking soda
–3/4 C chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Sift flour, baking soda, and salt together in a bowl and set aside. Beat butter and sugar together in the bowl of an electric mixer until light and fluffy. Add egg and vanilla and mix until combined. Add in the dry ingredients and mix until just combined (be careful not to overmix, which will make the cupcakes too hard and dry). Fold in chocolate chips. Line a muffin tin with liners and spray each with nonstick spray. Using a spoon also sprayed with nonstick spray, press about 1 1/2 tablespoons of cookie dough into the bottom of each liner. Next make the cupcake layer:

Cupcake Layer

–1/2 C butter
–1 C white sugar
–2 eggs
–1 Tablespoon vanilla extract
–1 1/2 C flour
–1 teaspoon baking powder
–1/3 C milk

Cream butter and sugar in a bowl. Add the dry ingredients and mix until just combined. Add the milk, mix, and then add the rest of the dry ingredients. Drop batter on top of cookie dough mixture (can use an ice cream scoop, then smooth out with a spoon.) Bakes cupcakes at 350 degrees for 15-18 minutes. Top with frosting and sprinkles.

Here’s what it will look like with just the cookie layer pressed into the liners:

Cupcakes

And the finished product.

Cupcakes

These are yummy.

Cupcakes

Cupcakes 6

I’m publishing this post from the Denver airport, on my way to New England. 🙂 See ya in Boston!

cupcakes, chocolate chip, cookies

Comments

  1. Aw, what a sad story!! =(

  2. aww, that’s sad. French presses are great, I hope you can find another one just like it. So is the bottom layer a cookie texture, and the rest is cake like? That is so cool, I’ve never seen something like it! Yay New England! Hope you have a fun trip!!

  3. Poor French Press!

    GORGEOUS cupcakes though. Have fun in Boston!

  4. I’m so sorry for your loss. The cupcakes look magnificent though!

  5. I’m so sorry about the French press:( Im glad I’m not the only one bargain hunting on Saturday’s! Check out goodwill too… I have gotten a breadmaker and a brand new cuisineart ice cream maker! The cupcakes are gorgeous especially the pastel sprinkles

  6. Oh noooo I am so sorry about your french press!
    Cupcakes are amazing and the addition of pastel sprinkles makes them complete 🙂

  7. Well these are just adorable – I think the liners are what really get me. Too cute!

    Sorry about your french press! Sad day 😦

  8. Well i certainly like your description of these little gems thats for sure! They sound absolutely delightful, and what a lovely (but sad) story, you have a really nice writing style 🙂 I think this may be my first time on your blog…but it definitely wont be the last 🙂

  9. aww that sucks! Those cupcakes look so cute and tasty 🙂
    Hope you have a safe flight!

  10. Poor french press 😦
    Your cookie cupcakes however, look amazing. love the idea of them!

  11. These cupcakes look awesome!!!!

  12. My cat swiped our french press off the counter last week and it was the same glass shattering ordeal; hopefully you find another one soon – they make the best coffee!! These cookie cupcakes look delicious, and a great concept.

  13. Those cupcakes are gorgeous! Hope you have fun in Boston!
    P.S. Where are your boots from in the previous post?! Love them!

  14. I am HEARTBROKEN that there is no photo of what the cupcakes look like on the inside. I guess I have to make them myself to find out 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. […] This cupcake has a glorious cookie bottom. Recipe here. […]

Leave a Reply

