Toasted Pumpkin Seeds

Toasted pumpkin seeds

I’m going home tomorrow! I am so excited to see my family and friends after a 3-month hiatus. And my dog Riley, who I hear through the grapevine (or my sister) is getting pudgy. When we adopted Riley at 8 weeks old, we solemnly vowed not to let him get fat, because fat beagles aren’t cute. (He’s more of a mutt than a beagle. But he prefers the term beagle.)

But he got fat. Because he really likes to eat. Anyway, I’m excited to see my cute fat beagle and Indiana people. I’ve been a little homesick lately. Every time I’m feeling homesick, I make something that reminds me of home, which toasted pumpkin seeds always do. Every year for forever, I’ve been making these multiple times in October. And no one in my family really loves them but me. So this translates to one whole pumpkin’s worth of seeds+1 day+a tummy ache for me. But it’s only once a year, right?

I usually make them after carving pumpkins with my family or friends, which is still one of my absolute favorite October activities. One year, I managed to carve a pumpkin that was a dead ringer for George Bush. (I wasn’t trying. It just magically happened and I was pretty impressed with myself.)

Anyway. On to the good stuff! I made these yesterday in anticipation of going home!

Super Easy Toasted Pumpkin Seeds

Pumpkin seeds

–2 C pumpkin seeds (Don’t wash them! That washes away their flavor. Just separate them from the goo and fibers.)
–1 1/4 teaspoon salt
–1 1/2 tablespoons melted butter or oil (I’ve made them with olive oil, which might be a tad *healthier* but I like butter better)

Stir together seeds, butter and salt. Bake at 250 until crispy and brown, turning every 15 minutes.

That’s it. 🙂

Pumpkin seeds Pumpkin seeds

Pumpkin seeds

I’ve tried making these with different combinations of spices—cinnamon, sugar, seasoned salt, garlic—and I always go back to my tried and true method of salt and butter. Actually, salt and butter could probably be my cooking motto. Me and Paula Deen. I’m pretty sure she has never even thought about cooking something that doesn’t contain four sticks of butter. It would be blasphemy.

Aforementioned butter notwithstanding, pumpkin seeds are really good for you. They contain vitamins and minerals, and tryptophan, which gets a bad rap for being known as the sleepy turkey drug but has been shown to combat depression.

Dave doesn’t like pumpkin seeds. So you can guess who now has an unsettled tummy but lessened levels of depression. 😉

By the way, I have to share one more fun and quick idea. It has absolutely nothing to do with pumpkin seeds but everything to do with yumminess. I made this bacon cheesy pull-apart bread for dinner last night, and it’s so cute and tasty! The only thing I would change is increasing the amount of the ranch/butter mixture you pour over it a little bit. This would make a great party food—you pull off chunks instead of slicing it. You can find the recipe here.

Bacon cheesy bread

(Sorry for the grainy pic. It was dark and I was starving so it was a shoot-and-run.)

P.S. Yes, it’s true that I am obsessed with Pinterest. But some things about it continue to baffle me. Pinterest friends, can someone explain to me why a photo of Ryan Gosling is floating around on there? Is he an idea or a recipe for cuteness or something? If I pin him, does that mean I can have him?

See you from Indiana!

Comments

  1. Your George Bush pumpkin was awesome. I just tried searching for a picture of it to relive its awesomeness but I couldn’t find one.

  2. LOVE these photos!!

  3. Aww – Ive just found your blog and its so sweet funny and cute – not to mention awesome photos! I just roasted some gem squash and have a bunch of seeds left over. Since I – obviously! – LOVE butter I think I might follow your example! xox

  4. Have fun! Sorry you’ve been feeling homesick…

  5. Have a safe trip back home! Hope you have a lovely time with your family 🙂

  6. Have a fun trip home!!
    I was just planning a pumpkin picking/carving excursion, and wondering to myself how to go about using the “innards.” Now I know! 🙂

  7. Love pumpkin seeds! In law school my roommate would always make them for me .. now that she moved away, I was so lost! haha. Thanks!

    Have a safe and fun trip home!!

  8. Yum, pumpkin seeds are delish. Love your photos!

  9. I love pumpkins seeds and that bread looks so delicious!!

  10. Gorgeous photos. . . the pumpkin seeds look delicious.
    Also, I love your site design!

  11. I have carved countless pumpkins but have never taste the seeds! Sad but true… must do this soon!

Trackbacks

  1. […] George Bush pumpkin! Ok, maybe it’s not so obvious in this picture, but I swear George is in there […]

Leave a Reply

