The Covered Bridge Festival

Waterfall

If you’re wondering what a Covered Bridge is and exactly how it can become a festival, you are definitely not from Indiana. 🙂 This giant fall craft fair has been around since 1957, and it just seems to get bigger every year. Literally millions of people go every year, and you can’t blame them when giant turkey legs, doughy apple dumplings, and pretty much anything you can deep fry and still call it food are involved.

I went with my family this weekend, and for a recap, the food sounds like a good place to start to me.

Chips for blog

That would be a big pile of homemade potato chips with cheese sauce and sour cream. (I’m going to preface this parade of food photos by saying that it took place over two days.)

If you’re a vegetarian, this is probably a good time to look away.

Meat

One of the signature dishes at the festival is sirloin steak dinners, which is really giant chunks of meat mixed with mushrooms, onions and potatoes in a big old pile of yumminess.

Mushrooms

The assembly line in action.

Assembly line

Basically, it’s meat and potatoes and butter. Lots and lots of butter. Works for me. 😉

What’s a fall festival without kettle corn?!

Cor

We were all about the free samples. That’s not me, in case you were wondering. That’s my twin sister Corey. Sometimes people say we look alike. (If someone says, “Hey, Corey!” I usually just say hi back and have had entire conversations before as Corey. It’s strangely entertaining.)

There were all kinds of peanuts, pecans, almonds, and any other kind of nut you can think of coated in cinnamon, sugar, hot sauce, strawberry and blueberry flavor, etc.

pecans

That free sample guy didn’t know what he was getting into when he said, “have all the samples you want!” He probably had to run out after I left and order another shipment of spicy hot honey peanuts.

Here’s a little visual on the variety of food available. If you leave the Covered Bridge Festival, it’s definitely your own fault.

Menu

The tents had so much fun stuff to browse. There were tons of varieties of olive oil from Italy:

Olive oil

And believe it or not, there’s more than food at this thing.

Like covered bridges!

Bridge

And produce. (Ok, technically food but also pretty to look at.)

Produce

And pretty scenery!

Trees Trees for blog

There were so many people! My pictures of the crowd would be so much more impressive if I wasn’t four feet tall. It’s hard to take pictures of a crowd when you come up to everyone’s belly button.

People

People

It was pretty much a free-for-all at the sirloin steak dinner tent (refresher: it’s the big pile of meat, potatoes, and butter). If you don’t want to eat it at ten thirty AM, like we are perfectly fine with, you’ll probably be standing in line for a very long time.

It was a perfect weekend for being outside and just enjoying an Indiana October. Plenty of other people thought so too!

People walking

In my future house, this thing will be in the backyard.

Fire pit

I’ll cook ham and beans in it and pretend I’m on the prairie. I’ll probably wear pigtails while cooking. And then I’ll read Little House on the Prairie to my kids and make them put away their cell phones. And then we’ll probably go order pizza because no one eats ham and beans anymore, right? Thank goodness for cell phones.

This sign disturbs me for two reasons:

Sign

First, there is no phone reception in the town. So000 …

Second, my lot in life is to be a grammar nerd. So if they could move those quotation marks two words and put them before “buy” instead of “He” I would probably sleep better at night.

Be back later with more Indiana adventures! 🙂

Comments

  1. I love fall festivals! I want to travel to Indiana just to go! Unlimited free samples are everyone’s dream right? Oh, and the covered bridges are neat… there are a lot in PA where I am from too.

  2. ahh everything looks amazing, what a cute festival idea! We have plenty of covered bridges around here but no festivals unfortunately. I bet those candied nuts smelled amazing! And tasted even better.

  3. Going to the Mansfield Covered Bridge festival was one my favorite things to do every year as a kid. Thanks for posting.

  4. Now I need to move to Indiana. And California.

    I’m hungry looking at that yummy food!!

  5. OMG you guys actually have fried oreos!??! I thought that was a myth!! My husband and I are planning a road trip across the states (for SOME point in the future) and he will defo want to go anywhere fried oreos are invlolved.

    ALSO im so bad aroud samples the husband pretends he doesnt know me at farmers markets and the like! xox

  6. One of my favorite things about autumn . . . the festivals! Love it! 🙂 Glad you had a nice time!

  7. Apple dumplings!! yum! Indiana looks great.
    I say Hi back as well when someone thinks I’m my other half 🙂

  8. Fall festivals are the best, and what a glorious one this was! I would have been the exact same way with the free sample of nuts 🙂 Except I would have gone for the sweeter ones, that blueberry kind sounds quite interesting!

  9. Sounds like tons of fun!! I love homemade potato chips!

  10. We don’t have a lot of Covered Bridge Festivals down here in southern Indiana, but I saw plenty of them up north while I lived in Terre Haute for college. I never made it to one but we have a similar festival called Harvest Homecoming down here and I love it! Looks like you had tons of fun 🙂

  11. Looks like so much fun! And sirloin steak dinners?? That just sounds amazing!

  12. I love fall festivals. AND covered bridges! They’re so pretty and rare! I heard it’s good luck to kiss when you go under one?

  13. I love fall festivals, this one looks beautiful.

  14. Ryan Woodward says:

    IF ANYONE IS INTERESTED IN PURCHASING KETTLE COOKED COVERED BRIDGE POTATO CHIPS CHECK OUT THIS LINK. http://WWW.COVEREDBRIDGECHIPS.COM AND TRY SOME OF OUR AMAZING POTATO CHIPS

  15. Ryan Woodward says:

    enjoy enoy

Trackbacks

  1. […] Wal-Mart. So I picked up peanut butter M&M’s instead for these blondies I made for when our Covered Bridge guests were in […]

Leave a Reply

