Moving Inspiration

(Alternative title for this post is: “Casey’s Gigantic Apartment Wish List.”)

Guess what I did today?

Signed a new lease! Dave and I have been looking for a little while for a new place to live. We love our location but some things in the house are less than ideal (mainly, my lack of an oven. In case you’re wondering, toaster ovens do not bode well for someone learning to cook meals instead of creating entire dinners out of Cheez-Its, wine and chocolate).

Anyway, we’re moving in a few weeks, so I have been browsing all over the Internet for some decorating ideas. I really, really wish I was born with the interior decorating gene, but I think it conspired with the good-at-math gene before I was born and decided to deprive me. I can do without the math (correct me if I’m wrong, but calculators work really well). Interior design prowess would be quite nice though. But I digress …

Here are some of my favorite decorating ideas I’ve found lately. Some are from Pinterest, some are from Etsy, and some are from Bing Images. 🙂 Decorating overload!

Let’s start with my favorite room first.

For the kitchen:

Coffee bar

How cute is this coffee bar? Our new kitchen area is small, but I’m thinking I could recreate this coffee bar a bit smaller that the picture. Love the red wall, too—thinking of painting the hallway that color.

Kitchen idea

This picture was on a design Web site because of the beautiful backsplash. And while I love it, it’s not the purpose of the picture for me … I just love the spice rack. 🙂 Anyone know where I can find a similar one?

Space saver

This idea is awesome! Cabinet space is always an issue in apartment kitchens (unless you have one of those TV apartments that definitely do not exist outside NBC studios), so this is a space saver and a cute decorating idea all at once.

Wine Cabinet

Genius, is all I have to say about this one.

And moving on:

For the bedroom:

Bedroom

I love absolutely everything about this room. When it comes to pretty much any room of the house, I prefer dark, rich colors to anything white or cream. The subtle lights above the bed, the gold bed frame, the dark wood, the mahogany doors …this is my dream bedroom. Now if someone could gift me with at least $10,000 to make it happen, I’ll be all set. Please and thank you.

mirror

This mirror is made out of recycled magazines. It could be a “DIY” project, but if I attempted it myself, it would probably end up looking like a third grader spilled a bottle of Elmer’s glue all over her art project.

Zebra rug

Love this zebra-striped rug with the pops of teal and orange. Everything about this is gorgeous! It makes me think of a 1930s movie star, sitting at her dressing table and contemplating life. 🙂

Now for the fun living room stuff!

For the living room

Wall mirror

I saw this at Target and fell in love. It’s a mirror with little hooks on it you could use for keys, dog leashes, etc. Not having somewhere to hang your keys is a very bad thing. Enough said. (This would be more hallway than living room, but it would located by the living room, so close enough.)

Living room

This is so elegant. Sadly our walls don’t look like that, but I love the cream pillows and the candles on the coffee table. Also note the fake plant that ties it all together and makes it feel homier. I bring this up because I would like opinions: Dave does not get fake plants. Period, exclamation point. He thinks they just get in the way. Is this just a guy thing? Are fake plants evil? Can I hypnotize him to get him to get him to like them? If this has worked for you, please share.

DIY

Another DIY. Isn’t it pretty? I ALMOST feel like I could complete this all by myself without gluing my fingers together!

And no apartment is complete without a little bathroom love.

For the bathroom:

Bathroom wire towel holder

Isn’t this towel holder the cutest?!

Storage

As for this one—I think if you’ve come up with a way to organize your toilet paper, you’ve pretty much got this whole life thing figured out.

And even though I do not have a laundry room (but I do have a washer and dryer in the apartment, which is YAY!!), here is my dream laundry room just for fun.

Laundry room

Right?!

And as long as we’re talking just for fun …

Patio

A girl can dream. 🙂

If you have any apartment decorating tips/links/ideas, feel free to share in the comments section!

Comments

  1. Hooray for moving! So exciting! Go to Pottery Barn Design Studio. They have great decorating tips. Also your spice rack is at Crate and Barrel.

  2. Oh I wish I could help more but I do NOT have any interior decorating skills. Luckily Louis and I live in my parents old apartment and they are GREAT decorators.

    I totally agree with you about the coffee table and the red in the hall – I love apartment with random walls of colour – its super sexy looking and bonus about not having to be bothered to paint the whole apartment! Also the hangy thing for the kitchen ware is great – although most of my pots and pans just end up sitting, drying by the sink 24/7 anyways. Eek! I also really really love that 1930s style bedroom. Im just sorry I have NO idea where to get any of that stuff!

    Have fun in your new place – living somewhere you are happy makes ALL the difference, ja?!

  3. I have to say that I am anti faux plants as well. Why not just get real ones? IKEA has great, cheap plants and I think they look so much nicer than fakes! Plus don’t they help clean the air in your home? Or maybe that’s a myth…

    • I’m so afraid I will kill them! It’s worth a shot though. Maybe I’ll go for it. 🙂

      • They will die. Get fake ones. lol I’ve killed enough plants to know that they do not grow with just good intentions of remembering to water them… 🙂 And no, you can’t teach a guy to like fake plants. He just needs to learn that he is not in charge of decorating, and thus if you want fake plants, you shall have them!

  4. The coffee bar and the mirror with recycled mags are my fave pictures, both such great ideas!
    Good luck with moving 🙂

  5. ohh congrats, how exciting! Moving is stressful but decorating is the fun part! I could looks for days on pinterest at all of the gorgeous decor, it’s so inspriring and I can’t wait to have a place (and money) to decorate someday! Good luck with the move, whenever that may be!

  6. My apartment can barely fit my bed, but those pictures you posted have me dreaming big 🙂
    Good luck everything and I hope you settle in to your new home quickly!

  7. I have a whole board on Pinterest full of home decorating ideas, haha! Just love it! 🙂

  8. Pinterest is def way I get all of my decorating ideas. I’m not very good at coming up with things on my own but I totally can change things I like to fit our house and styles

  9. I love this post!!! No worries on decorating the guest room, you can leave that to me since I’m pretty much going to be overtaking it this summer. Would it be too much to paint my name on the wall? 🙂 You can go ahead and take care of that before I get there so there’s no confusion about who it belongs to . . .pink paint will work, thank you very much:)

  10. I am addicted to looking at new organization stuff and rooms on pinterest! You found some cute stuff!

Trackbacks

  1. […] (See that fake tree in the background? I have a feeling it has a short-lived life in the living room, due to Dave’s heartfelt dislike of fake trees.) […]

Leave a Reply

