Christmas Cheer

The Christmas spirit has definitely arrived in Pasadena (and in me). This weekend, I made Dave buy a Christmas tree, watch a Christmas movie, and eat Christmas cookies and drink Christmas beer. I couldn’t get him to wear Christmas slippers with me, but I still have most of December to make that happen. 😉

Our Saturday night:

Sam Adams Movie

Don’t you love the Sam Adams bottle? We bought a sampler pack of holiday-themed Sam Adams, and I decided that for my next career move, I want to write the back of holiday beer bottles.

I am in love with Love Actually. It’s the most adorable movie on Earth, not uncoincidentally, because Hugh Grant is the most adorable man on Earth.

See the blur of lights behind the beer bottle? We also decorated our cute new Christmas tree, which is only four feet tall. (I identified with it. We became fast friends.)

Blog 3

I’ll save the actual tree picture for when we have a tree topper. Right now, it’s sitting there all lovely and decorated, but with no star. It’s waiting patiently but looks a little Charlie Brown without one.

Today, I put on my Justin Bieber Holiday Pandora station (which I kept refreshing so it would actually play Justin Bieber—I’m tricky like that) and baked these Peanut Butter Nutella Cookie Cups. They have nothing to do with Christmas except that I baked them in December, so I’m calling them Christmas cookie cups. (They are really, really yummy.)

Cookies

Speaking of nut butters, I also bought this stuff at Trader Joe’s, and could not be more enamored with it. (I know, it’s only food. I get excited about the little things.) Anyway, it tastes just like the little Biscoff cookies they hand out on Delta flights, and it’s pretty alarming how I can just eat it by the spoonful. My pantry’s going to need a padlock on it soon.

Cookie butter

Then we wandered around downtown Pasadena to see all the pretty lights. They go all out around here!

Lights Snowflakes

I love the snowflake patterns of lights scattered over the buildings. It’s as close as we’re going to get to real snow in these parts.

Snowflakes

Trees

Trees

Isn’t it gorgeous? You can’t even tell now, but Santa Ana Winds came through the city (and a lot of Southern California) on Thursday night and tried their best to destroy everything. It was really scary. 100 mile an hour winds all night. There were trees down everywhere the next morning, and damage to several building awnings. But just two days later, everything is pretty and sparkly again. Just the way I like it. 🙂

Hope you had a fun weekend too. Happy December!

Comments

  1. I watched Love Actually on Saturday night too! (After I Christmas-ized my apartment that day too!)That movie will never ever go out of style. Love it!

  2. So glad you enjoyed the PB cookie cups. What a fun new name. Looks like a wonderful way to spend an evening.

  3. My boyfriend loves that movie… I dont’ like “chick flicks,” but he made me watch. Hah.

    Glad you’re ok from all that wind. Since I live/work in that area, it was an interesting week.

  4. Love these pics, they’re so Christmas-y! Love Actually is such a great movie, I cry every time!

  5. The Santa Anas knocked my power out! Luckily, only for about a day. Nothing too crazy 🙂 I think it’s time for me to get some of that cookie butter…

  6. argh – i was at TJ’s today and forgot to look for the speculoos!!!

  7. Love Actually is one of my fave Chrissie movies to watch! I wouldn’t blame you for eating that cookie butter by the spoonful 🙂 Pasadena looks lovely with all the decorations.

  8. That sounds like such a cute weekend! Hugh Grant actually used to eat at the restaurant my friend watressed at – like the whole time! Apparently he was exactly like his character in Bridget Jones – if a little more wild as well! :). Happy December!

  9. I’m intrigued by that seasonal Samuel Adams.
    I liked all the holiday lights in this post — so festive!

Leave a Reply

